Text Size

Our new report shows the continued systemic use of restraint and seclusion in BC schools. Read more.

From December 1-3, we're celebrating the UN International Day of Persons with Disabilities. Film festivals will be held in 5 locations across BC. Stay tuned for details!

Watch our 60th Anniversary video that honours and remembers the civil rights history of people with intellectual disabilities in BC. Read more about our history here.

New BCACL Board of Directors Sworn-in at Annual General Meeting

A new Board of Directors was sworn-in at the 2010 BCACL Annual General Meeting on June 19, 2010.

We welcome new board member Geoff Wright from Parksville to the board of directors and thank leaving board members Jerry Laidlaw and Michael Prince for their dedication and commitment to the BCACL board over the years. Michael Prince will continue lending his expertise to our movement through his involvement with the National Action Committee on Employment, Income Security and Disability Supports and Jerry Laidlaw through his involvement with the BC Self Advocacy Foundation.

Annette Delaplace was elected as the new BCACL president and Leila Rahemtulla as the new Vice President. After serving a one-year appointment on the Board, Leila Rahemtulla was elected as a Director. The BCACL Board will seek its one-year director appointment in the near future.

Read more about the BCACL Board of Directors here.

Photo: Alain LeFebvre, Joanne Gauthier, Malerie Meeker, Leila Rahemtulla, Kathleen O'Hanley, Tim Stainton, Rachel Adair, Rory Summers, Annette DeLaplace, Geoff Wright

The BCACL Board of Directors

President: Annette Delaplace, Richmond

Vice President: Leila Rahemtulla - Vancouver

Treasurer: Alain LeFebvre, Prince George

Past President: Rory Summers, Prince George


Rachel Adair - Smithers

Malerie Meeker - Powell River

Kathleen O’Hanley - Langley

Paul Pallan - Victoria

Tim Stainton - Vancouver

Geoff Wright - Parksville