Text Size

A year long celebration including marches, parties, workshops, grants and film making. Join the conversation at disabilitypride.ca

 

Missed the Festival? View a selection of the films on the NFB Playlist!

Watch our 60th Anniversary video that honours and remembers the civil rights history of people with developmental disabilities in BC. Read more about our history here.

Nanaimo Association for Community Living

Organization Details

Email: 
info@nanaimoacl.com
Phone: 
(250) 741 - 0224
Fax: 
(250) 741 - 0227
AGM: 
September
Membership: 
Full
Union(s): 
CUPE Local 3376
Budget: 
6000000
Year founded: 
1986
Total Membership: 
50
Organization Region: 
Vancouver Island

Directed by Person Centered Thinking, Nanaimo Association for Community Living supports individuals with developmental disabilities by providing services that promote whole life balance.  Our current service offerings are as follows:

Actions Day Program:  A comprehensive, community-based day program that encourages clients to participate in a variety of activities related to their goals, interests, needs, skills, and choices.  This also includes the spinoff program of our Actions Expansion Life Long Learning Program, targeting youth transitioning out of high school to teach them life and citizenship skills. Contact Barb Barry - Phone: 250-741-0224 (ext. 33), E-mail: barb.barry@nanimoacl.com

NACLWorks! Employment Services:  NACL's in-house employment program, which utilizing the Discovery Process and Customized Employment philososphy to generate “real work for real pay” for those NACL serves. Contact: Barb Barry – 250-741-0224 (ext. 33), E-mail: barb.barry@nanaimoacl.com

Residential Services:  NACL operates six residences that are tastefully decorated, with private living areas for each person served.  Person Centered Plans ensure community involvement is an important component of a person’s whole life balance.  Each residence has a Program Manager licensed by the Ministry of Health.  Current Residential Programs include: Caspers Way Home, Hammond Bay Home, Jingle Pot Home, Kennedy Home, Portsmouth Road Home, and Turner Connection Home.  Contact Julie Wakefield – Phone: 250-741-0224 (ext.29), E-mail: julie.wakefield@nanaimoacl.com

Home Share:  This program matches persons served with the right caregiver in order to promote independence in a family setting.  Contact: Randy Humchitt (250-741-0224, ext. 26 or randy.humchitt@nanaimoacl.com), Sarah Bowman (250-741-0224, ext. 22 or sarah.bowman@nanaimoacl.com), or Leona Warick (250-741-0224, ext. 40 or leona.warick@nanaimoacl.com) for further details.

Snoezelen Room:  A unique multi-sensory environment free from the expectations of others and the pressures of directed care, participants experience self-directed exploration, relaxation or stimulation – leaving them free to respond to these new sensations in their own unique ways.  Contact 250-741-0224 (ext. 32), E-mail: snoezelen@nanaimoacl.com

Addresses

Organization Address: 
NACL #201 – 96 Cavan Street Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 2V1 Canada
Board Members: 

President:  Julie Stevens

 

Staff Members: 

Executive Director – Graham Morry (250-741-0224, ext. 60 or graham.morry@nanaimoacl.com)